If this is your first offense and you have refused the breath test, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days. If you consented to a breath test and it rendered a reading of .08 or above, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.

If this is your second offense and you have refused the breath test, your driver’s license will be suspended for three years. If you consented to a breath test and it rendered a reading of .08 or above, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.

How much does it cost to get my driver’s license reinstated after an OUI conviction in Massachusetts?

If you were convicted of OUI in Massachusetts, and your driver’s license was suspended, the cost to reinstate it depends on your specific circumstances. Reinstatement fees run between $500 and $1,200.

How many points are put on my driving record for an OUI in Massachusetts?

An OUI is considered a major traffic violation. As such, if you commit this offense, 5 SDIP (Safe Driver Insurance Program) points will be added to your driver’s license.

How We Can Help

When you contact our OUI defense team after your arrest, we will explain your options and potential penalties. If it is possible to fight the charge or reduce the penalties, we will tell you how we will do it. Don't take an OUI charge lying down. Let my team get to work for you! We defend those in the Hingham, Massachusetts, and the surrounding counties around the South Shore.