Arrested for, or charged with, OUI or DUI offenses in Massachusetts, and feel like your life's on the verge of coming apart at the seams? That's understandable. The criminal justice system is frightening and overwhelming, especially if you're not used to finding yourself on the wrong side of the law. Take a deep breath. Your current legal problems don't have to signal the end of life as you know it or mean that the dreams you've worked toward are suddenly out of reach. Our Nantucket OUI lawyer at Nate Amendola Defense is here to help.
Massachusetts OUI/DUI: What You Should Know
Operating or driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense in the Bay State. What's considered "under the influence?" According to Massachusetts law, it's operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or greater—and it's illegal even if you aren't visibly intoxicated. The legal limits are even lower for commercial drivers (.04 percent) and motorists under 21 (.02 percent).
Pulled over and arrested for operating or driving your vehicle under the influence? You could face misdemeanor or felony OUI or DUI charges. The state charges first and second OUI offenses as misdemeanors, while third, fourth, and subsequent offenses are charged as felonies.
Potential Penalties of a First-Offense OUI/DUI
- Up to two and a half years in house of correction
- Fines between $500 and $5,000
- License suspension for up to one year
- Probation (after completing an alcohol education program at your own expense)
Is this your first offense? You may be able to complete a probation program under the so-called Alternative Disposition instead of serving time in jail. However, penalties are much harsher for second, third, or subsequent offenses and may include mandatory jail time. Other factors that can increase the penalties for an OUI/DUI conviction are damaging property, injuring people, or having children in the vehicle when you were pulled over.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Massachusetts OUI Lawyer Today
If you've been arrested on an OUI/DUI charge, domestic violence, disorderly conduct, or drug possession, you should speak to an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible. You can contact us online or call our office directly at 781-661-5450 to schedule your free consultation with one of our top-notch defense lawyers. We have been proudly servicing clients throughout Norwell, Massachusetts, and surrounding areas such as Plymouth, Barnstable, Nantucket, and more.